Money, Money, Money… MONEY!

So the theme/focus for March is going to be money.  I am rather disappointed with myself since it is the 4th day of the month and I have $20 in my accounts that needs to last me until my next check on the 11th.  Tomorrow, I will be spending $10 to go see my guy.  I have food, the pups have food and my basics are covered, but still.   I work a well paying job and I have no money.  And I don’t really have a safety net.  I don’t have anyone to bail me out if I miss my rent payment (well, I do but really do I want to borrow money when I make a pretty decent income???)  My credit is not stellar (again, history with money) so a personal loan right now is out of the question.  One of the big goals that I have for 2016 is to move in with my guy or at least closer to him.  In order to make that happen, I need to have $2000 saved up by Jan 1, and I have 4 cents in my savings account.  FOUR CENTS!!!!

With the plan that I had set up at the first of the year, I should have had $515 in my savings account and I have 4 cents????

How did I get here?

I blew thru my savings last month because of some mistakes I made at Christmas and commitments that I made to purchase things that I really shouldn’t have agreed, but did.

I have slacked at being prepared with meals.  Looking over my spending for the past couple of months – buying breakfast on my way into the office can average $5 – $8 depending on what I am getting and lunch averages about $10.  So $18 dollars a day on just food, not including dinner?

Lack of impulse control on purchases.  Ok – my bad habit right now is vaping – the Guy and I go to a vape shop and let me try out this new juice that is $20.  I don’t need the juice, specially when I just spent $100 ordering some stuff online.  Need to get that under control.

I have my budget set up and I should be able to meet my savings goal and still have some money left to go play with.  I just need to stick with it and work on it.

Leave a comment